International Organizations – Headquarters and Current Chiefs

International Organizations – Headquarters and Current Chiefs

Most Important Organizations:

Organization Name Headquarters Name of Current Chief
United Nations
UN General Assembly New York John Ashe (Antigua and Barbuda)
UN Security Council Gary Quinlan (USA)
UN Economic and Social Council Martin Sajdik
UN Secretariat Ban Ki-moon (South Korea)
International Court of Justice Ther Hague (Netherlands) Peter Tomka (Slovakia)
Food and Agriculture Organization Rome (Italy) Jose Graziano da Silva
International Labour Organization Geneva (Switzerland) Guy Ryder
International Maritime Organization London (UK) Koji Sekimizu
United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) New York (USA) Anthony Lake
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Paris (France) Irina Bokova
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Nairobi (Kenya) Achim Steiner
World Health Organization Geneva (Switzerland) Margaret Chan
World Intellectual Property Organization Geneva (Switzerland) Francis Gurry
World Food Programme Rome (Italy) Ertharin Cousin
World Tourism Organization Madrid (Spain) Taleb Rifai
United Nations Development Programme New York (USA) Helen Clark
United Nations Capital Development Fund New York (USA) Marc Bichler
United Nations Industrial Development Organization Vienna (Austria) Li Yong
International Union for Conservation of Nature Gland, Switzerland Julia Marton-Lefèvre (Director General), Zhang Xinsheng (President)
Arms Control
Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons The Hague, Netherlands Ahmet Uzumcu
International Energy Agency Paris (France) Maria van der Hoeven
International Renewable Energy Agency Masdar City (United Arab Emirates) Adnan Amin
Nuclear Energy Agency Paris (France) William D. Magwood, IV
International Atomic Energy Agency Vienna (Austria) Yukiya Amano
Economic Institutions
International Monetary Fund Washington, D.C.( United States) Christine Lagarde
Asian Development Bank Manila (Philippines) Takehiko Nakao
International Fund for Agricultural Development Rome (Italy) Kanayo F. Nwanze
African Development Bank Ivory Coast Donald Kaberuka
Bank for International Settlements Basel, Switzerland Jaime Caruana
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Paris (France) Jose Angel Gurria
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Vienna (Austria) President – Diezani Alison-Madueke,Secretary General – Abdallah el-Badri
World Bank Group
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development Washington, D.C. (United States) Jim Yong Kim
International Development Association Jim Yong Kim
International Finance Corporation Jin-Yong Cai
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency Keiko Honda
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes Meg Kinnear
World Customs Organization Brussels (Belgium) Kunio Mikuriya
World Trade Organization Geneva (Switzerland) Roberto Azevêdo
International Criminal Court The Hague (Netherlands) Song Sang-Hyun
European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker
European Parliament Martin Schulz
European Council Herman Van Rompuy
Council of Europe Strasbourg (France) Thorbjorn Jagland
European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) Meyrin (Switzerland) Rolf-Dieter Heuer
European Space Agency Paris (France) Jean-Jacques Dordain
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Jakarta (Indonesia) Le Luong Minh
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Kathmandu (Nepal) Arjun Bahadur Thapa
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Brussels (Belgium) Jens Stoltenberg
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Singapore Alan Bollard
African Union Commission Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
African Union Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz




Organization Name Headquarters Name of Current Chief
United Nations
United Nations Development Fund for Women New York (USA) Inés Alberdi
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees Geneva ( Switzerland) António Guterres
Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS Geneva ( Switzerland) Michel Sidibé
United Nations Population Fund New York (USA) Babatunde Osotimehin
United Nations Human Settlements Programme Nairobi (Kenya) Joan Clos
United Nations Volunteers Bonn (Germany) Richard Dictus
United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women New York (USA) Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka
United Nations University Japan David M. Malone
World Wide Fund For Nature Gland, Switzerland Yolanda Kakabadse (President) Marco Lambertini (Director General)
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Rajendra K. Pachauri
Global Environment Facility Washington (USA) Naoko Ishii
International Organization for Migration Geneva, Switzerland William Lacy Swing
International Hydrographic Organization Monaco
Arms Control
Nuclear Suppliers Group Czech Republic (Current Chair), Argentina will be next chair in 2014-2015
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Vienna (Austria) Lamberto Zannier
Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Vienna, Austria
International Whaling Commission Impington (England)
International Seabed Authority Kingston (Jamaica)
Economic Institutions
International Bureau of Weights and Measures Sevres (France) M.J.T. Milton
African Development Bank Ivory Coast Donald Kaberuka
Bank for International Settlements Basel, Switzerland Jaime Caruana
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Paris (France) Jose Angel Gurria
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Vienna (Austria) President – Diezani Alison-Madueke,Secretary General – Abdallah el-Badri
Nordic Investment Bank Helsinki (Finland)
Islamic Development Bank and Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Jeddah(Saudi Arabia) Ahmad Mohamed Ali Al-Madani
Energy Community Vienna (Austria) Janez Kopac
European Science Foundation Strasbourg, France Marja Makarow
European Southern Observatory Garching (Germany) Tim de Zeeuw
Collective Security Treaty Organization Moscow (Russia) Nikolai Bordyuzha
Economic Cooperation Organization Tehran (Iran) Shamil Aleskerov
Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) President – Desi Bouterse, Secretary General – Ernesto Samper
Central American Parliament Guatemala
Commonwealth of Nations UK SG – Kamalesh Sharma, Chairperson-in-Office – Mahinda Rajapaksa
Arab League Cairo (Egypt) Nabil Elaraby


Organization Name Headquarters Name of Current Chief
International Centre for Migration Policy Development Vienna (Austria) Peter Widermann
Antarctic Treaty Secretariat Buenos Aires, Argentina
International Council for the Exploration of the Sea Copenhagen, Denmark
Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission Thailand
Indian Ocean Tuna Commission Victoria (Seychelles)
Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission California (USA)
Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization Canada
North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization UK
Pacific Salmon Commission Columbia Susan Farlinger
Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center Thailand
Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission USA Charles Karnella
Energy / Nuclear Energy
International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis Vienna (Austria)
European Free Trade Association Geneva (Switzerland) Kristinn F. Arnason
European Patent Organisation Munich (Germany)
Council of the Baltic Sea States Stockholm (Sweden) Jan Lundin
Southern African Development Community Gaborone (Botswana)
Economic Community of West African States John Dramani Mahama
Organization of American States Washington, D.C. José Miguel Insulza
Caribbean Community Georgetown (Guyana) Secretary-General – Irwin LaRocque, Chairman Gaston Browne
Association of Caribbean States Port-of-Spain (Trinidad) Alfonso Munera Cavadia
Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States Saint Lucia Chairman – Roosevelt Skerrit, Director General – Didacus Jules

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: